Rajya Sabha Polls: Congress, AIUDF Pick Ajit Bhuyan As Candidate

The biennial elections of 55 members of Rajya Sabha from 17 states will be held on March 26th, 2020


Ajit Kumar Bhuyan, veteran journalist and fierce critic of Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), is Assam Opposition’s consensus candidate for one of the three Rajya Sabha seats to be vacated in April 2020.

Assam Congress and Badruddin Ajmal led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) chose Bhuyan to contest for the forthcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Earlier, the AIUDF has proposed the name of Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as the common candidate for one of the three Rajya Sabha seats in Assam. However, Congress pushed for an anti-CAA and non-political candidate for the elections.

Bhuyan is a popular face of the anti-CAA movement in Assam. He resigned as the editor-in-chief of the popular satellite news channel Prag News earlier this year.

The elections for three Rajya Sabha seats are scheduled on March 26th, 2020. The counting of votes will also take place the same day. The seats of Bhubaneswar Kalita, Sanjay Singh and Biswajit Daimary will fall vacant on April 9th, 2020.

Daimary filed his nomination for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections at the Assam Legislative Assembly on March 11th, 2020.

Photo: Time8