Over 50 Congress Panchayat Leaders, Members Threaten To Resign In Hajo


As many as 55 Congress Panchayat leader and members from Hajo constituency have threatened to tender resignations from their post. A letter dated November 27th, 2019 was addressed to Congress MP Ripun Bora on the ‘ongoing internal politics’ undersigned by the 55 panchayat leaders and members.

According to their concern, they had fruitfully participated at the last Assam Panchayat elections under the supervision of the former general secretary of APCC Dulu Ahmed. But the newly elected leaders of Gram Panchayat have been inflicting ‘indiscipline’ at the village councils which has led to stigma and loss of goodwill.

A copy of the letter has been sent to AICC general secretary in-charge of Assam Harish Rawat, Leader of Opposition Debabrata Saikia and Ghanshyam Kalita.

The letter had signatures of Junu Begum(Panchayat President), Binti Altaf(Panchayat President), Beauty Begum(Anchalik Panchayat member), Riju Talukdar(Anchalik Panchayat member), Kalpana Das(Anchalik Panchayat member), Rajida Kahtoon(Anchalik Panchayat member), Samsoon Ara Begum(Anchalik Panchayat member) and ward members–Basistha Kalita, Fajal Ali, Mafidul Haque, Ranuwara Begum, Muniwara Begum, Washed Ali, Yasmin, Anuwara Begum, Ajgar Ali, Noor Islam, Nazma Begum, Sumsum Nahar, Riyaz Ali, Nurjahan Begum, Inanat Begum, Inul Haque, Ajay Das, Elema Begum, Rekha Begum, Narjima Begum, Najrul Islam, Asmina Khatoon, Rahitul Nesa, Joynal ali, Makibur Rehman, Marina Begum, Rehmant Ali, Rupita Begum and so on.

The irked Panchayat members threatened to publicly resign from their posts if the suspension order of Dulu Ahmed is not revoked by December 8th, 2019. Ahmed was suspended by the APCC this July for ‘anti-party’ activities.

Photo Credit: Scroll.in