CAA Stir: Australia Warns Citizens Against Travelling NE India

United States, United Kingdom, Singapore, Canada and Israel also warned their citizens against travelling to Northeast India

Photo Credit : Social News XYZ

The Australian government on December 17th, 2019, issued an advisory to the citizens to not to travel to Northeast India, which has witnessed massive protests against the amended Citizenship Act.

An advisory issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) asked Australian citizens to exercise ‘high degree of caution’ while travelling to India due to protests against the Act.

The United States, United Kingdom, Singapore, Canada and Israel had also warned their citizens against travelling to the region in view of the boiling situation over the act, which was passed by the Rajya Sabha on December 11th, 2019.

The US Embassy in New Delhi has also listed out precautions for its citizens staying in the NE states, asking them to avoid areas with ‘demonstrations and civil disturbances’.

Massive protest over the act hit the Northeastern region especially Assam resulting damage of several public transport vehicles and public properties. Delhi and West Bengal have also witnessed protests over the act.

The advisory also asked Australian travellers not to visit Jammu and Kashmir and the India-Pakistan border.

On December 16th, 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi termed violent protests across the country against the act as ‘unfortunate and deeply distressing’, and appealed to people to stay away from rumour-mongering.

The Act seeks to grant Indian citizenship to Hindus, Sikhs, Jains, Christians, Buddhists and Parsis, who have become victims of religious persecution in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh and entered into India on or before December 31st, 2014.

Photo courtesy: Social News XYZ