By-Election 2019: BJP, Cong Confident Of Victory In Assam

Assam will go to polls for its four Legislative Assembly Constituencies on October 21st, 2019

Himanta Biswa Sarma during campaign meeting in Karimganj. Photo credit: @himantabiswa

With only two days left for the by-elections 2019, Assam witnessed high-voltage electioneering. The ruling BJP and the opposition Congress are leaving no stone unturned to ensure their victory.

The state will go to polls for its four Legislative Assembly Constituencies(LAC) on October 21st, 2019. The LACs of Ratabari, Jania, Rangapara, and Sonari will go to polls as incumbent MLAs were voted to power in the last Lok Sabha Polls. While the saffron party currently holds the Ratabari, Rangapara and Sonari seats, the Jania seat is a Congress stronghold.

Congress poll campaign at Sonari. Photo credit: @INCAssam

Congress has fielded Keshab Prasad Rajak in Ratabari, Shamsul Hoque in Jania, Kartik Kurmi in Rangapara and Sushil Churi in Sonari Legislative Assembly Constituencies. The ruling BJP have fielded Nabanita Handique in Sonari, Rajen Barthakur in Rangapara, Taufiqure Rahman in Jania and Bijay Malakar in Ratabari.

Former chief minister Tarun Gogoi on October 18th, 2019 attended bye-elections campaign meetings in different areas under Sonari LAC in support of party candidate Churi. He was accompanied by former minister Sarat Barkataki, APCC General Secretary Kalyan Gogoi with other senior leaders.

APCC President and MP Ripun Bora with other senior leaders attended poll campaign programmes in different areas of Rangapara LAC in support of party candidate Kurmi. Bora was accompanied by MP Gaurav Gogoi, MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi with other senior leaders.

On the other hand, Assam CLP deputy leader Rockybul Hussain along with other senior leaders was seen addressing campaign meet at Ratabari. Poll campaign meeting in Jania LAC for Congress candidate Haque was attended by Bora, MP Pradyut Bordoloi, MP Abdul Khaleque, MLA Sukur Ali among others.

Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal joined the campaign trail at Bhojo, Bengenabari Teokhabi, Napuk Tea Estate in Sonari in support of Handique. The BJP leaders also witness a huge gathering in Khanamukh and Sonabari under the Rangapara Vidhan Sabha constituency.

Gathering at the BJP’s poll campaign at Sonari. Photo: @BJP4Assam

State BJP chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass addressed Jania’s minority voters for alliance candidate Rahman in Jania. In addition to that, BJP’s big gun and state finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma personally visited different areas of Sonari, Rangapara, Ratabari, and Jania.

Himanta Biswa Sarma’s padayatra from Anipur to RK Nagar in Ratabari LAC. Photo credit: @himantabiswa

AIUDF is going to contest only from one seat -Jania – and have fielded Rofiqul Islam against Congress’ Hoque and BJP’s Rahman. The other candidates in fray for Jania seat are: Rustam Ali (CPI(M)), Chand Mahammad (NPP), Abdul Jalil Talukdar (Ind.), Rafikul Islam (DPI) and Subhash Sutradhar (Ind.), Faruk Khan(AAP).

Photo credit: @himantabiswa