Jammu And Kashmir Officially Split Into 2 Union Territories From Today

President's rule imposed in the undivided J&K officially revoked today


Jammu and Kashmir is no longer a state after it was officially bifurcated into two Union Territories(UT)—Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh on October 31st, 2019.

IAS officer Radha Krishna Mathur was sworn-in as the new Lieutenant Governors (LG) for the UT of Ladakh. Mathur administered the oath by Chief Justice of J&K High Court Geeta Mittal at Leh. Girish Chandra Murmu is the new LG for Jammu and Kashmir. His oath will be administered at Srinagar.

The outgoing Governor of J&K, Satya Pal Mailk, has been moved as the Governor of Goa.

In a landmark announcement by the Indian government on August 5th this year, J&K’s decades-old special status under Article 370 was scrapped which led to the birth of two union territories. With the abrogation of Article 370, President’s rule imposed in the undivided J&K was officially revoked.

Now the total number of states in the country is 28 and the UTs have gone up to seven.

Photo credit: @PIBHomeAffairs