29 C
Monday, August 8, 2022

    Big Breaking: Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh to be Union Territories

    Guwahati: In a historic move, Union Home Minister Amit Shah on August 5th, 2019 moved a resolution at the Rajya Sabha to scrap the provisions of Article 370 of the Constitution in Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) and bifurcated the state into two Union Territories(UT).

    The announcement came after a crucial meeting with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the morning hours of August 5th, 2019 at his Lok Kalyan Marg residence with his members of the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS).

    As per Shah’s proposal, J&K has been bifurcated into two union territories (UT) – the Union Territory of Ladakh and the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. “Keeping in view of the prevailing internal security situation, fuelled by cross border terrorism in the existing state of Jammu and Kashmir, separate Union Territory for Jammu and Kashmir is being created,” read a statement signed by Shah.

    The proposal came in wake of the tension that continued to simmer in Jammu and Kashmir after additional troops were deployed in the state on August 2nd, 2019. The government in an unusual advisory called off the Amarnath Yatra and asked the tourists, pilgrims, to “immediately” leave the state.

    Internet services were suspended in the Valley and 144 of the CrPC was imposed in several districts of J&K that came into effect on the midnight of August 4th,2019. Several top politicos Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti, Sajad Lone was put under house arrest amid heightened terror threat along the Line of Control (LoC).


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published