Assam By-Election Results: AIUDF Takes Massive Lead In Jania

AIUDF has never been a communal party, in fact, it is the most secular party in the region: Rafiqul Islam


The fate of 20 contestants in the four seats -Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari, and Jania – will be decided after the final results which will be announced after counting of votes on October 24th, 2019.

The Jania constituency which has the highest number of nine candidates, the AIUDF is taking a massive lead till the counting of the fourth round of votes. As reported the AIUDF is leading with 6617 votes against its triangular contestants- Towfiqur Rahman (BJP), Samsul Hoque (INC) and Rafiqul Islam(AIUDF). The other contestants are Chand Mahmud (NPP), Faruk Khan (AAP), Rustom Ali (CPI-M), Rafikul Islam (Democratic Party of India), Abdul Jalil Talukdar (Ind) and Subhash Sutradhar (Independent).

“I am thankful to the people who have voted for me and expect to keep their blessings on me. I have been working for the goodwill of the people and will continue to do so,” said Rafiqul Islam while addressing the media.

“AIUDF has never been a communal party, in fact, it is the most secular party in the region. It is evident in all the works we have done so far in the state. We have never made any communal-hate statements and have been working for the development of the people belonging to different communities,” he added.

The Jania seat fell vacant after Abdul Khaleque of Congress was elected as the Lok Sabha MP in May this year.

On the other hand, as BJP’s Nabanita Handique and Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress are pitted against each other for the Sonari seat, Jorhat MP Topon Kumar Gogoi exuded the confidence of BJP’s win.

It may be mentioned that the by-polls to 64 assembly seats including one Lok Sabha constituency spread across 18 states was held on October 21st, 2019. This included four in Assam, three in Sikkim, one each in Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh in the Northeast region.

Photo: Maidul Islam